Creative Sketchbook Module 1, Chapter 8, Extra Activity

Standard

Extra Activity: Use a computer programme to change the colours of your final painting.

I’ve used Gimp, which is similar to Photoshop, but free. In the past I’ve used it for cropping, making photos lighter or darker, and doing small corrections etc, as well as some effects – it distorts things beautifully – maps look fantastic when you distort them. Anyway, this is my first effort at changing colours. Not sure if I can do it again!

pic 3 a b- Copy

Well, I did do it again… but I think it probably works better with less pattern, and more solid blocks of colour.

New pic 3 a - Copy.jpg

Let’s try the first Matisse style picture I did… the one with all the pink (8.2)…

Amatisse 11 - Copy

Like everything else, you need to practice this to get the hang of it, but it’s great fun, and could be useful. I shall go away and have a play.

About chrisharding53

I'm a former journalist and sub-editor who loves needlework, reading and writing, and is still searching for the Meaning of Life, the Universe and Everything. Until I find the answer I'm volunteering at an Oxfam Book Shop and learning about Creative Sketchbooks!

Leave a Reply

