2.2.1 (Take Two)

Standard

I’ve ended up starting a second sketchbook while I’m still working on the first, because when I visited my elder daughter a dew weeks back I took a selection of felt tips, so I could do some work (having realised that I’d used lots of writing tools, but hadn’t done much in the way of , or turning pages in different directions, or anything like that.I should have combined both elements of this activity, but I wasn’t thinking very clearly.

However, I accidently left my sketchbook at home and had to buy another, a cheap one, square again, and bound instead of spiral. The paper is a bit think, but it’s not too bad, although marks show through in some places. In the end I only did three pages while I was with my daughter and her husband, but it kept me occupied for four hours on the train home from Plymouth, when I covered around with 16 pages (though they weren’t all writing – some were ‘travel lines’). And, since I was on a bit of a roll, I’ve kept going with this book

nebook.2

nebook.3nebook.4

I was really pleased with this page. It was fun to do, but basically it’s just writing, in different colours, styles and sizes, with text written over other text. The words are bits from songs and poems about trains, written from memory (mostly misremembered I’m afraid).

nebook.5

This next one is similar technique to thew last one, trying to make a kind of diagonal arrow pattern. The words were partly remembered information about June, partly copied from stuff on the Kindle, and partly copied from a book on the seasons, weather and customs which was in my travel bag – I bought it while I was away, and sat on the train floor unpacking everything!

The poem written in red on the arrow is from Thomas’s Five Hundred Points of Good Husbandry, which I think is fascinating (but people think I like some very odd things). He was an Elizabethan gentleman, who wrote a book of advice for farmers, smallholders and so on, all in rhyming couplets, which I think is quite an achievement.

nebook.6

 

nebook.7

The lines on the page below are ‘travel lines’. You hold the pen very loosely, and draw lines as you travel,  going backwards and forwards, or up and down (or both), and you get lovely, wobbly, shaky effects. It works beautifully with broad edges calligraphy pens, where you cab get different effects by turning the pen at different angles, and if you use thick and thin pens it adds interest. If you go vertically and horizontally it looks like a piece of weaving, or drawn thread work.

Originally I intended to write over this, but it looks so nice I can’t bear to spoil it! Perhaps I could use the idea in some way for Module 3 which, I seem to remember, is all about Marks in the Landscape

nebook.8

nebook.9

nebook.10

nebook.12

nebook.a6

More ‘travel lines’…

nebook.15

I’ve plucked up courage to write on one… It’s from a poem called Road, by Don Paterson. I wanted the lettering to look as if it was being viewed through a mesh curtain.

nebook.a1

And more… They are quite mesmerising… You don’t have to think at all…

nebook.16

And another… Last one, honest…

nebook.17

nebook.18

nebook.19

Written from right to left instead of left to right. Some cultures, like those using Arabic and Hebrew scripts write from right to left.

nebook.20

Other cultures, like Japanese and Chines, write in rows which go down the page, from top to bottom. So I’ve tried writing from top to bottom, with the first column staring on the right hand side of the page… Confusing…

nebook.21

nebook.23

This was from an idea in the Distant Stitch Workbook. I found it quite trickt to remember what I was meant to be doing!

nebook.24 (2)

Leave a Reply

