Activity 2.2.2, 2.2.3 and Extra Activity.

Standard

Activity 2.2.2 (1)

Black and White:Use a marker pen or pen and ink. Begin with your word written in the centre of the page. Using the outline of the word to guide you begin to build up intricate patterns working from the centre to the edge of the page of the page. The patterns can be as varied as you like, building up from simple repetitive doodles such as spirals, dots, lines, squares and circles.

To be honest, I’m not sure if this decorated letter quite firts into this activity or not, but I did it, and I liked it, so here it is.

nebook.25

And here is my word. When I was working I was working I always used to doodle, on my notebook, on council minutes, on court lists, so I enjoyed this immensely. It took me hours, and I am pleased with the result, although it’s not as neat as it should be – it certainly doesn’t bear close inspection. But I’ve tried to get lots of different patterns in there, and to have areas of light and dark. It reminded me a bit of Paisley designs, or traditional crewel work. I’d like to have another go, using markers of different thicknesses, and trying to build up more dense areas contrasting with open ones, like building up a blackwork pattern.

So here’s my completed pattern:

nebook.26 (2)

And here it is halfway through:

nebook.27

nebook.28

Activity 2.2.2 (2)

Colour: Use paint and a brush to write a word in the centre of your page. Using the same colour add further lines which reflect and follow the shapes made by the word.

I used gouche for this, but I’m not happy with this. It looks clumsy and messy. A smaller brush might have helped but I’m not very good with paint, am I!

nebook.29

nebook.28

Activity 3.3.3, Circles and Spirals: Draw a circle lightly in the centre of the page and use it as a guide to write words round until you reach the edges of the pages. Words can overlap or change in size.

This was what I started with, using one of my home-made ‘cola’ pens and light green acrylic ink I wrote the first stanza from Laurie Lee’s April Rise. You have to keep turning the page, and blotting as you go along, otherwise your arm and hand smudges the writin. I found the best way was to wait a few seconds, then put blotting paper over, wait a few seconds, then keep writing, with my hand and arm resting on the blotting paper.

nebook.greencircle 1

I wanted to make it look more interesting, and a yellow watercolour wash background, and more writing, in gold or a darker green, but I wasn’t sure what it would like, or whether my gold ink is waterproof (there’s no indication whatsoever on the bottle). So I did some samples, and sponged paint on using a small piece of a flat sponge (the kind you use for wiping kitchen surfaces), as well as a paint brush.

work4

I went with the sponged surface, because I wanted it to look a bit patchy, and let it dry before adding another layer, especially in the centre. And I used gold paint, because I wanted the green words I already had to be dominant. And for the same reason I opted to write in the gaps, rather than over the words, so it looks almost shadowy. Unfortunately, the ink didn’t mix up very well, and it needed shaking every few seconds, only I couldn’t be bothered, so a lot of the writing came out greyish  or beige with a few golden specks rather than gold, but it adds to the shadowy effect. At this point it still wasn’t really what I wanted – the yellow did seem to be very yellow, and there was still quite a bit of white space. So I cut another piece of flat sponge and added lime green over the words. The colour reproduction on my scanner isn’t very good, but this, more or less, is what it looks like now:

work5

I loved working on this, and I like the result.

Activity 3.3.3, Capital Letters

Draw evenly spaced lines across the page and use them as guides to write capital letters touching the lines. Add colour to spaces. Leave some white. Try restricting colours.

This one is more like a sampler, with three different techniques: colour in some of the letters; a wash across part of the letters, and the last one is supposed to colour in some of the gaps between letters, but I kept forgetting and bits of the letters as well! I really like this effect.

work7

I wrote this one with a crochet hook and black ink, which turned out to be washable (though it didn’t come off my hands!). I tried one little bit of colour inside a letter and the yellow started turning green… And I tried thicker paint, instead of a wash, between the letters, which didn’t make the ink run, but I didn’t like the effetc. This page wasn’t doing anything at all for me… So I brushed a wet paint brush across the top of letters to get shades of grey…  And I love it!!!

work9

Extra Activity: Try out different shapes such as squares and triangles as a starting point for Activity 3.

Remembering my cup and saucer where I tried drawing letters in the shape of the cup and saucer, I thought I would have a go at using that shape to write round. I tried to make the letters bigger and further apart as I went out towards the edges. Again, while I was working it didn’t seem to be gelling (and the top left-hand corner is wonky). But it came to life after I’d added in some very tiny writing to separate the cup from the saucer.

work10

This one just goes round and round and round in a square, with writing oover writing, over writing. The addition of gold and silver wasn’t necessarily the best of ideas, butit just about works. However, that thickish, very black felt tip was a BIG mistake, and I don’t see what I can do about it. I guess I could try painting white over the page, which would tone it down a bit, but it will tone everything else down as well, so the black will still be dominant, even though it is not as black.

work11

Extra Activity: If you have a drawing programme installed on your computer that has a symmetry button you can have great fun drawing patterns using your name.

Sadly, I don’t have a drawing programme. I did look at Gimp, but that’s about picture manipulation.

Review of Chapter 2

I enjoyed working on this chapter – I especially liked making and using my own pens, and writing round shapes, and the decorated capital letters, and those fabulous black and white zentangles. But it seems to have dragged on for a very long time, and I never really got into my stride until the last few activities.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

