Rosalie Gascoigne Take 2

Standard

This a holding exercise, to show what I am trying to with my stitched book on Rosalie Gascoigne – wrapped wooden tea stirrers on back and front, by the spine, using garden twine, raffia, old embroidery threads and wire; braids to hang from them using variety of old yarns, sari silk and variety of techniques – plaiting (with 3 threads, 4 threads and different materials combine), lucet, twist, friendship bracelet knots (think these are actually macrame knots) etc; beads to hang from ends using newspaper and other recycled paper, wire, threads, paints, and various other bits and pieces eg shiny paper from packet of tea bags, and netting from oranges – I’ve zapped things with the heat gun, and found some stuff like that fuses OK, but it’s better adding a bit of Fibretex or Bondaweb or something like that first; little metal squares, cut from old tube of skin cream, with letter of alphabet incised on with crochet hook, then held in gas flame with VERY low flame; wire curls – you can see one of them on the covered stick, but I’ve done a lot of loose ones, using different sire, including green garden wire..

There are more things than this – these are the bits I’m working on at the moment, and nothing is properly finished, and the pictures are not very good – I am taking some better ones to stick in sketchbook and do a proper piece about it, so I’ll update this in a couple of days.

Now I need to work out how to put everything together….

dsc_0109-2dsc_0112dsc_0115-2dsc_0124-2

Update (September 11): Lizzy Lewis (my tutor), had some ¬†brilliant suggestions about making a cover with drink stirrers, so I’ve decided to change direction, and I’m working on ideas and samples in the sketchbook!

About chrisharding53

I'm a former journalist and sub-editor who loves needlework, reading and writing, and is still searching for the Meaning of Life, the Universe and Everything. Until I find the answer I'm volunteering at an Oxfam Book Shop and learning about Creative Sketchbooks!

Leave a Reply

